Showcasing Laois History and Heritage
An Initiative of Laois Library Service

Day

August 5, 2021
The building which we now know as the Masonic Hall on Church Street was built in 1765 and functioned originally as the first Methodist chapel in the town of Mountmellick. When the Methodist Body moved in 1882 to the Gideon Ousley Memorial Chapel on Market Street (now Parnell Street), the Freemasons of Lodge No.660 took...
Read More

About Us

Laois Local Studies was established to collect, preserve and make available for reference, material relating to the history and heritage of County Laois.