The Cosby family of Stradbally Hall, Co. Laois has resided in the area since the late 16th century, a remarkable continuous association with the surrounding locality. While not unique in Ireland, it is rare that a family has remained with such longevity over the course of almost 500 years, especially considering the economic pressures associated...Read More
The Pigotts came to Laois as part of the Plantation of Queen’s County in the 1550s. John Pigott was an English captain who accompanied Thomas Radcliffe, Earl of Sussex, into Queen’s County circa 1558. He came from Salop and was connected to the ancient Pigott family established at Chetwynd Edgmont. For his service John Pigott...Read More
The building which we now know as the Masonic Hall on Church Street was built in 1765 and functioned originally as the first Methodist chapel in the town of Mountmellick. When the Methodist Body moved in 1882 to the Gideon Ousley Memorial Chapel on Market Street (now Parnell Street), the Freemasons of Lodge No.660 took...Read More
David Walsh-Kemmis has generously provided digital copies of a selection of the Walsh-Kemmis estate maps to the Laois Digital Archive. The manuscript maps relate mainly to the 19th Century, but a ‘map of Ballykillcavin’ dates to the mid 18th Century.Read More
To celebrate Heritage Week 2020 Laois County Library engaged the services of Irish History Live to create fun and educational videos for children on Laois local history. Irish History Live is a regular visitor to Laois library branches and is part of the Heritage in Schools Scheme run by the Heritage Council. You can see...Read More
Laois Local Studies was established to collect, preserve and make available for reference, material relating to the history and heritage of County Laois.